Arizona State Archery Association




Each year the Arizona State Archery Association recognizes a man and woman who have made a lasting, significant contribution to the target archery community in Arizona.


2002 Recipients are Michael Koistinen and Janice Price


The 2003 awards will be presented at the

Arizona State Outdoor Championship

scheduled for early Oct. 2004.









Dedicated to Alfred K. Henderson


Al began his Arizona archery career in 1945 as a competitor. In 1947 he began coaching and in 1952 started an archery business.  In 1976 Al was chosen the Professional Archer of the Year and the 1976 Olympic Archery Coach.  He served as a board member for the PAA, ALOA, AAC and as the director of PAA Instructor’s School.  Alfred K. Henderson was best known for his promotion of archery in all its aspects and his advancement of coaching techniques.





1975      Alfred K. Henderson

1976      Alfred K. Henderson

1977      Fred D. Chesire

1978      Mark Vancas

1979      Not Conferred

1980      David H. Convery

1981      Richard McKinney

1982      Les Court

1983      Richard McKinney

1984      Richard McKinney

1985      Richard McKinney

1986      Jay Barrs

1987      Terry LaBeau

1988      Jay Barrs

1989      Kevin Erlandson

1990      Terry LaBeau

1991      Steve Lewis

1992      Michael Seddon

1993      Mike Fournier

1994      Kevin Erlandson

1995      Stewart Bowman

1996      Terry LaBeau

1997      Jim Hamilton

1998      Terry LaBeau

1999      Michael Koistinen

2000      Foster Gorman

2001      Ted Harden I

2001      Ted Harden II

2002      Michael Koistinen




of the Year




1975 - 2002



The Arizona State Archery Association elects individuals of varying backgrounds and accomplishments for the annual Toxophilite Award,

recognizing long term contributions to target archery in Arizona.




\Tox*oph"i*lite\, n.

A lover of archery; one devoted to archery.



Please email additional links to








Dedicated to Margaret L. Klann


Margaret began her Arizona archery career in 1945 as an instructor at ASU, where she taught and coached until 1976.  During that time she produced many All Americans and National Champions.  She was the founder of the NAA College Division and the driving force behind the formation of the ASAA.  Margaret was active as an US Olympic Archery committee member and a NAA Board of Governors member.         





1975       Margaret L. Klann

1976       Margaret L. Klann

1977       Olive V. Crouch

1978       Sue Vancas

1979       Judi Plants

1980       Irene Daubenspeck

1981       Sheri Rhodes

1982       Maree Court

1983       Linda McMillen

1984       Not Conferred

1985       Judi Adams

1986       Sheri Rhodes

1987       Marion Rhodes

1988       Sheri Rhodes

1989       Michaela Dye

1990       Wendy Erlandson

1991       Hilary Hirsch-Ascani

1992       Sheri Rhodes

1993       Diana Carr

1994       Kathy Greene

1995       Hilary Hirsch-Ascani

1996       Kathy Greene

1997       Lori Mitchell

1998       Kathy Greene

1999       Kathy Greene

2000       Kathy Grant

2001       Vivian Koistinen

2002       Janice Price




Back to Top